Summit Middle School is an independent non-profit educational corporation, governed by a Board of Directors, which is elected by Summit families, faculty and staff.  The School operates under a charter from the Boulder Valley School District.  Except where Summit’s charter contract gives authority to the Boulder Valley School District, all policies and governance of Summit are the responsibilities of the Summit Board.

The Board is made up of nine voting members and one non-voting member, the Principal.  It is the responsibility of the Committee on Trustees to recommend a slate of candidates to the Board of Directors for approval for annual elections.  Community members interested in serving on the Board should contact the Chair.

Notice of meetings of the Board adheres to the Colorado Open Meetings Law.  Notice of no less than 24 hours will be given prior to any board meeting.  Meeting dates will be announced in the Summit Newsletter and are posted on the school calendar on the Summit website.  Meeting agendas are posted 24 hours prior to the meeting on the Summit website and on the bulletin board outside the office.  

Summit relies on open communication between parents, faculty, staff and board.  For more information about communicating with the board, contact Jill Oliver, Board Chair, at or any member of the board directly.  


It is time for Summit's annual Board of Directors' Election! Six seats will be vacated at the end of this school year, and we are asking you to vote for up to six candidates. The election will close on Friday, March 19th at 3:00 PM. To learn more about the candidates you may view their resumes and questionnaires below. The number of students you currently have enrolled at Summit will determine how many times your family may vote. You will receive as many email requests to vote, as you have students at Summit. Please be sure to vote for each request. If you have one student at Summit, but two parent email addresses on file, the parent receiving the request to vote was chosen randomly. 

The Board of Directors will hold a candidates' forum on Monday, March 8th at 6:00 PM, virtually, for community members to learn more about the candidates. All are welcome! 

Google Meet Link:
Join By Phone: 1-252-563-4340, PIN#: 706 816 112#
Thank you to our Summit Community for their attention and involvement in this election. 



Jill Oliver, Chair
Daniel Simon, Treasurer
Renee Garcia, Secretary
Laura Mancini
Heidi Phan
Michelle Shewchuk
Shari Polis
Alex Bradley
Katie Schwalb